WriteOn 2016


Kylie Booker, Director of Curriculum and Innovation

WriteOn is an annual writing competition open to all students in Years 1 to 6. Using a photograph as a stimulus, students were asked to compose an imaginative piece of writing up to 500 words in length.

The competition allowed for submission of one entry per stage. This year the students submitted some outstanding entries. The following students are to be congratulated on being short-listed as finalists for the competition.

Stage 1 Stage 2 Stage 3

Sophie Lau

Philomena Goh

Abhigyan Ravichandran

Edith Hickson

Hayley Yap

Zo Ee Teh

Alexus Ong

Hanz Lee


Bella Durkin

Daniel Teoh

Nichole Ong

Alice Tan


Jordan Butler

Mia Tan

Valencia Santhara

Megan Yap


                            Stage 1                                                                     Stage 2

                                              Stage 3

It was very difficult to select the winning submissions for the competition. A special thank you to Dr Priest, Mr Darren Bird and Ms Angela Barnes (past AISM English teacher and author) for assisting to judge the writing. The writing was judged on specific criteria which included the following guidelines.

Students will demonstrate the quality of their writing by:

  • engaging the audience in a way that is creative, interpretive, critical and powerful
  • maintaining a consistent structure appropriate for the type of text selected
  • using a range of stylistic devices appropriate for the stage of the writer and the intended audience
  • using a variety of language, vocabulary and punctuation forms throughout the piece
  • considering the purpose, audience and context
  • evidence of a process of planning, investigating, adapting, editing and revising.

Congratulations to Philomena Goh, Hanz Lee and Megan Yap on their outstanding pieces of writing. We wish them all the best of luck in the competition.

Stage 1 Winning School Entry Stage 2 Winning School Entry Stage 3 Winning School Entry
Philomena Goh Hanz Lee Megan Yap